Darsan is the Sanskrit word for philosophy. It means to see through the senses. We have six senses. Our five senses plus our mind. When we use all six senses it gives us vision. Darsan also means to make the vision more clear. Vision to see the self. What we are, we reflect.

Spirituality is the journey towards our self. Balance within the self means spirituality. How many ways to see our self? In India there are six different schools to find, see the self. We need the base to build philosophy. The base of Indian philosophy is Veda. Means knowledge > Vidhya.

Vedas are the greatest ways to remove the ignorance, lack of understanding (Avidhya).

Only by reading Vedas you can’t understand. Just by reading without experience you can t remove darkness.

When you read philosophy be observer. Either you become attached to things, either you become observer. Be the observer, otherwise it is very confusing.

Bhartiya Darsan = Indian Philosophy is divided in two parts :

  1. They accept vedas as highest authenticity, the highest source of knowledge. (Sankhya, Yoga, Nyaya, Vaishasika, Meemansha, Vedanta)
  2. They do not accept vedas as highest source of knowledge. (Charwak, Buddha, Jain)

Sankhya is the theory of yoga. Yoga is the practice. Kapil explained the concept of Sankhya and Patanjali gave the practical purusha stopping the fluctuation of the mind, in order to find purpose in life. Sankhya means numbers. Sankhya Darsan is the human existence explained in 25 numbers.

Purusha means the highest consciousness. (1)

Praktiti means matter (nature). (24)

When those two elements come together then the evolution of the 23 elements happens. Whens the fluctuation of the mind stops then you go to purusha. Philosophy based on duality. We cannot deny the existence of the body. Then adding consciousness to the body I become a human being. Consciousness needs the body to express.

Prakriti (nature) is made from three Gunas. These are mental qualities of the mind, responsible for our behavior. Doshas are the qualities of the physical body.

We need all three Gunas (three elements of prakriti)

  1. SAT > Light, Truth > Awareness
  2. RAJ > Movement, Activation > We need movement in life
  3. TAM> Darkness, Ignorance > We also need that for relaxation

When SATHUA manifests in our self is pure honesty. Helps us to have proper thinking. Love, compassion, etc. Sathua people are humble and help others. SAT is : to think properly. On the negative manifestation, Sathua is lazy.

RAJAS are kings. They can lead very well. They are people influenced by their emotions. Their mind changes a lot. They have very quick mind. They take everything personally because of their emotions. If we start taking everything personally it becomes too hard to live! RAJ is : to act properly. How they handle emotions can be challenging for Raja people.

TAM are lazy. But this quality helps us to relax. If I don’t feel lazy how can I relax? TAM is : to sleep properly. Tam stresses the person on a negative manifestation and leads to addictions. They feel stress on the shoulders, the heart, negative emotions & negative feelings increase. Unnecessary worries…etc. If Tam is imbalanced can affect sleep badly. If someone remains in a state like that affects them. If someone sleeps 12 hours per day, laziness brings lack of motivation, so brings darkness and bad qualities.

Mind has three functions :

  1. Thinking
  2. Identifying
  3. Deciding

So we have 3 types of Ego. (Satvic, Rajasic, Tamasic)

Reality is we are pure consciousness (purusha) + matter (prakriti) when these two come together a new is born : Mahat/ Budhhi (intellect). Mahat coming in the being we have new reality : Jiva. Also Mahat, the intellect, the intelligence leads to Ahankar (ego).

*The moon and its reflection on the water. Is the real moon moving? The intellect is changing but pure consciousness doesn’t change*

I have identified myself with that. I am wrongly identifying because what I am is purusha (pure consciousness). So I identify wrong as right. So this given another identification arises : Who am I? What is this something else? It is Jiva (the sense of individual (self) > being (consciousness) >the concept that I am different from purusha > the freedom of that concept is Kaiwalya (onesness, when Jiva becomes free from all ego identifications).

Both Sankhya (theoritical concept) and Yoga (the practice) have the same goal Kaiwalya (Moksha, Mahasamadhi) = Absolute final freedom. Total liberation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *