Earth element
Muladhara (mula=root, adhara=support or base)
The root chakra is located between the anus and the genitals (perineum).
Its function is to ground and represents the will to survive.
When malfunctioning it may affect the hemorrhoids and can cause constipation, sciatica, obesity.
The inner state is stability and slowness.
The body parts related are the legs, feet, bones and large intestine.
The mantra is LAM.
The yantra is an inverted triangle in the centre of the square.
The color is red.
The sense related is the smell.
The deities presiding are Brahma and Dakini.

.Our journey begins here at the base chakra. It represents our most primitive instincts. In the pericarp is found the presiding deity Brahma, the lord of creation.The child nature of the god-form indicates the relative immaturity of consciousness at this level. The energy, or shakti, of Brahma is called Dakini. She is in shining pink with four arms holding a skull, a sword, a shield and a trident symbolizing the forces of the creator, the preserver and the destroyer. The deities in each chakra symbolize the lessons on our journey.

Meditate on the element of earth or choose an earth deity and study their mythology -the aspects of ourselves that might reflect and symbolize.

To work with asanas just sit on the floor with legs stretched out in front of you. Support yourself by placing your hands on the floor behind you and arch your buttocks bouncing gently on the base of the spine.

Or sit on the floor with legs outstretched in front of you, lift upwards the spine and bend your knee placing the heel between the genitals. Reach forward and take hold of your leg at the shin, ankle or the foot if it feels comfortable. Exhale and bend forward bringing your head toward the knee of the extended leg. Repeat on the other side.

or just sit on Vajrasana.

The music that this chakra responds to is earthly tribal music and primitive natural rhythms. Sounds of drumming or chanting may also encourage you to dance or even jump to activate it.

Flower remedies:

  • 6 Learning to let go.
  • 9 Grounding.
  • 13 Integration of joy and sorrow.
  • 24 Taking responsibility for your own life.
  • 30 Trusting your own development.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *