Air element 
Anahata (anahata=unheart, unbeaten, unstruck)
The anahata chakra is located between the fourth and fifth thoracic vertebrae.
Its function is love.
When malfunctioning can cause asthma, blood pressure, heart and lung disease.
The inner state is compassion and love.
The body parts related are the lungs, heart, arms and hands.
The mantra is LAM.
The yantra is a six-pointed star .
The color is green.
The sense related the touch.
The deities presiding are Isa and Kakini.

The intelligence of this level is symbolized by Isa, an aspect of Shiva. Isa, an aspect of Shiva, in this image holds nothing. Usually when we see representations of Shiva, we see the holy Ganga (river Ganges) flowing from his hair as a cooling and purifying stream of self-knowledge: the knowledge that I am That. He usually has the snakes coiled around his body which are the passions that he has tamed. He represents the whole world system in which the diversities of phenomenal realities of time and space are gradually revealed. Here he only makes a gesture that grants boons and dispels fears. His energy is Kakini Shakti. She holds a noose and a skull. Same gesture like Isa in her front two hands and the other two that hold a noose and a skull are symbolizing two necessary elements for one to attain balance. The noose reminds us not to become captured in the expectation of spiritual experience and the skull reminds us of the need to maintain a pure mind. In anahata chakra Shakti appears for the first time as a beautiful goddess, serene and centered within herself, symbolizing selfless spiritual devotion.

The activation of this chakra brings many different qualities. As the center opens it brings an increasingly subtle sense of touch. The individual becomes highly sensitized to the energy fields of others. The ability to heal is a natural extension of the increased capacity for love. When anahata chakra is open the ability to give and to receive is genuine. Compassion becomes a natural expression of feeling. The path towards higher consciousness begins at this level. Here karma no longer binds and universal life is experienced. Opening the lower three chakras inevitably releases karmic forces. When the mind is attached to worldliness, conscious dwells in the lower three centers. There are no high ideals or pure thoughts. When the mind no longer runs after worldly pleasures, the space for spiritual vision of the divine light starts to be cultivated.

We draw oxygen from the air quite unconsciously thousands of time every day. What will happen if we begin to be more aware of our breathe? There is a direct link between the control of the breath and the control of prana. Pranayama is very important practice as we learn to use our lungs capacity. Most people have the tendency to breathe in a shallow manner. To breathe deep has the effect of keeping us in touch with our feelings. Rebirthing begins with conscious connected breathing as a way of reaching deep memories and feelings. The conscious breath is absolutely vital for a conscious life. As the element of this chakra is air spiritual breathing disciplines are part of the mental training and expansion of consciousness that will help us activate it.

The heart chakra is not easy to activate. The major processes for opening the heart should start by emptying it of selfish desires, preparing the way for transformation into a center of selfless love, like a constant stream of divine love. At first it seems easy to understand anahata chakra. Yet it often turns out to be the place where we are the least active in reality. For the most part we aim to bring love into our lives, instinctively acknowledging the goodness within the experience of loving. By instinct we recognize both its presence and its absence. We all have experienced falling in and out of love, we have all loved and felt loved in return. Also many grow up in loveless and unloving homes and have no experience of being loved, nurtured and valued. Even so everyone needs to love and be loved. Personal love is just the starting point for the experience of this chakra. The quality, degree and form of love assigned to the fourth chakra is quite different from personal love. It is the degree of unconditional, universal love which is a rare thing. It is a continuous flow of loving energy through the heart towards others. A few individuals live their life whole radiating from the heart. It is hard to fully awaken those qualities within us, as our love is so easily limited to family, friends, to those who we have learnt to love and they love us back. Therefore, when meditating on the heart chakra strong sensations may arise, even pain. Even if mental negativism makes its appearance, it is essential to not lose our optimism. Our life is an endless cycle of action and reaction and choosing to be positive makes the process a softer experience.

Mediate on the element of air or explore your own experiences of giving and receiving love.

Asanas: try all backbends that are comfortable at the stage you are at right now in your practice or just stand with your arms outstretched, then stretch them backwards without bending the elbows (so that you feel a pressure in your shoulder blades). Keep bending your hands backward. Inhale and raise your chest up and outwards. Exhale keeping the arms outstretched bring your palms together in front of you curving the spine slightly forward. Take your hands back on inhalation. Bring forward on exhalation.

This wonderfully dynamic exercise is helpful for releasing constriction in the chest area.

Stand straight with feet shoulder width apart. Breath deeply and raise arms above the head. Bend backward. You can use a wall to support you. In the beginning do not keep that posture more than a few seconds. Slowly increase the time. This instantly reveals areas of restriction.

To find the heart space sit in a comfortable position for meditation. Close the eyes and concentrate on the throat. Breathe in with a full deep breath. Feel the breath filling the chest cavity. Allow the outgoing breath to pass without attention. Repeat this until you are fully focused on the breath. Next direct your attention to the space just above the diaphragm. Become aware of this place being filled. Gradually you will develop an awareness of this heart space. When you feel you have discovered it, it will expand and contract in time with the breath. If consciousness is maintained you might spontaneously see a blue lake with a blue lotus. The vision will appear at the right time. Do not force anything and do not use the power of the creative imagination to build the scene.

Classical music is ideal and any kind of music which has the power to melt the heart. The natural sounds of whales and dolphins can take us beyond ourselves. Pachebel’s Cannon is a soothing and healing piece of music. You might also find helpful the Quiet Water by Paul Fitzgerald and Mark Flanaganand the Edge of Dreams by Phil Thornton.

Flower remedies :

  • 4 Service.
  • 8 Overcoming distance.
  • 14 Unconditional love.
  • 15 Free-flowing love energy.
  • 16 Living in the here and now.
  • 25 The ability to express true love.
  • 26 Overcoming ego limitations.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *