Always keep the gaze soft. If you have perfected your asanas, then perfect drishti, otherwise, just look at your nose. The nose points the way quite naturally. When gaze is at the tip of the nose and the 3rd eye the focus goes inward.

Drishti : gazing is focusing technique.

The 9 looking places :

  1. Nasagrai : The space just beyond the tip of the nose. Mostly in sitting asanas and more (Uttanasana, Adho Mukha Vrksasana Handstand, Urdhva Dhanurasana Wheel and Ustrasana Camel).
  2. Ajna chakra (3rd eye) : Between the eyebrows.
  3. Nabi chakra : Navel center (Adho Mukha Svanasana).
  4. Hastagrai : Hand (Trikonasana, Utthita Parshvakonasana Extended Side Angle).
  5. Padhayograi : Toes (Savangasana).
  6. Parshva : Far to the right (Padangustasana).
  7. Parshva : Far to the left (Marichyasana, Bharadvajasana Bharadvaja’s Twist).
  8. Angushtha ma dyai : Thumbs (Urdhva Hastasana).
  9. Urdva : Up to the sky (Urdva Mukha Svanasana, Uttkatasana Virabadrasana 1).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *