Sutra means:

  1. A thread > the importance of the thread is : to hold.
  2. A formula > solutions, if we want to achieve absolute freedom we need a formula.
  3. Guidelines > the rules which we must follow.

If we practice asanas, safely, with instructions, regulations, right guidance how to walk the path of yoga, then we can’t have injuries.

Yoga Sutra means philosophy of yoga. Yoga Sutras where composed by Patanjali. Patanjali means fallen angel. The idea is that he came to assist humanity. Mythology describes him like half man, half snake. Patanjali is known as the father of modern yoga. He did not invent yoga. Yoga was already there in various forms, which he assimilated into a system. Shiva, the Adiyogi or first yogi, transmitted yoga to the Sapta Rishis or the seven sages many thousands of years ago. He had the highest understanding of human nature, but he didn’t put anything down in writing. Everything starts from Shiva. A story starts with Parvati, his wife, asking him about his secret wisdom then mentions the cave where he took his wife to tell her the secret of his powers, the wife fell asleep but the snake heard the secret of knowledge. In India the snake is symbol of knowledge and Shiva means pure consciousness. The snake was punished to teach the humans. The story ends giving 1000 heads to the snake so that was able to answer at once to the 1000 yogis and their tests.

Whenever we read Yoga Sutra we should read it like if it was written just for us. This will directly give us better understanding of ourselves. That’s why we read Yoga Sutras, to understand ourselves.

Patanjali explains how to achieve bliss. He combined the yogic ancient knowledge from 18 different philosophies and made it more practical. Ashtanga is a combination of preexisting yogas.

The Yoga Sutras book has four chapters. Every chapter has specific number of Sutras (short verses) 196. In the first chapter he gives the definition of yoga. The next three chapters outline practices and approaches to assist the students follow his initial teaching and describe some experiences the yogi might encounter. Often the verb is left out of the sutra to make it smaller and easier to remember. At the time Patanjali composed them they were not written down but transmitted orally.

Chapters :

  1. Samadhi > the goal. Tool, the highest practice to help us reach liberation. (51)
  2. Sadhana > practices. Yogic powers, supernatural, strength, flexibility, stability. (55)
  3. Vibhuti >beyond. The goal beyond the powers. Thing that comes after. (56)
  4. Kaiwalya > absolute final freedom. Total liberation. (34) .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *